TechAmerica Oregon Names Winners of the 2012 Oregon Technology Awards

PORTLAND, Ore. – May 10, 2012 – TechAmerica Oregon announced its 2012 Oregon Technology Award winners in a ceremony held last night at the Portland Art Museum. The winners represent the year’s top Oregon and Southwest Washington-area technology companies in five categories:  Rising Star, System/Hardware, Software, Technology-Service, and Cool Product.

“With so many outstanding applications, the selection committee had a difficult job selecting just one winner for each category and for the first time ever we had a tie.” said Kari Naone, TechAmerica’s Interim Regional Vice President for Oregon. “We’re thankful not only for the quality of technology companies here in Portland, but for the assistance of our selection committees, volunteers and sponsors who helped to make this historic tech-community event possible.”

The annual Oregon Technology Awards program, now in its fourth year managed by TechAmerica Oregon, celebrates excellence and achievement in the region’s technology industry. This year’s celebratory event provided sponsors and attendees an opportunity to invest in Oregon’s future innovators with proceeds going to support local math, science and technology education. The 2011 Awards program generated over $12,500 for the Oregon Robotics Tournament and Outreach Program (ORTOP).

Rising Star Company of the Year
Act-On Software, Inc.

System/Hardware Company of the Year
FEI Company and nLIGHT Corporation (tied)

Software Company of the Year
Viewpoint Construction Software a division of Coaxis, Inc.

Technology-Service Company of the Year
iovation, Inc.

Cool Product of the Year
Mondopad, InFocus Corporation

Introduced this year, the Catalyst award recognizes the entrepreneurial spirit in Oregon and those individuals and/or organizations that have provided an extra ingredient to propel start-up and emerging-growth companies. Diane Fraiman of Voyager Capital and Nitin Khanna of MergerTech, private investor in tech startups, were this year’s recipients.

Dr. Don Kania, President and Chief Executive Officer of FEI Company, was honored as the Executive of the Year and Kirby Dyess, Principal of Austin Capital Management, was named the first woman recipient of the Lifetime Achievement award. The Technology Executive of the Year and Lifetime Achievement Award recipients are selected by a committee of previous recipients and members of the Oregon technology community provide the nominations.

The Oregon Technology Awards Program is produced by TechAmerica Oregon and supported by various generous financial and in-kind sponsors. The presenting sponsors of the 2012 program are Cresa Portland and UnitedHealthcare. Other sponsors include Woodruff Sawyer & Co., First Tech Federal Credit Union, KMPG LLP, ViaWest, McClenahan Bruer Communications, Pop Art, Inc., Moss Adams LLP, USI, Perkins Coie LLP and Spirit Media. To learn more about the Oregon Technology Awards, please visit


About TechAmerica
TechAmerica is the leading voice for the U.S. technology industry – the driving force behind productivity growth and jobs creation in the United States and the foundation of the global innovation economy. Representing approximately 1,000 member companies of all sizes from the public and commercial sectors of the economy, it is the industry’s largest advocacy organization and is dedicated to helping members’ top and bottom lines. TechAmerica is also the technology industry’s only grassroots-to-global advocacy network, with offices in state capitals around the United States, Washington, D.C., Europe (Brussels) and Asia (Beijing). Learn more about TechAmerica at